Mama…..

Be careful of the cups you drink from….
those offered in golden cups encrusted with the jewels
of lust.

Mama’s mouth lifted into a half-smile
with the pain of remembrance dancing on her
tongue and she said….

I suppose most women want to be like their mothers
Not me
Never wanted to be like my mama
sacrificing her peace
sacrificing her mind
just to keep a household that was stitched together in fear

I said I won’t be like my mama
who found her saviour in a tyrannical man who whipped
her mind into defeat

Never did I want to be like my mama
submissive
timid
shrinking away
retreating into the mind for solace
but crumbling away into nothing but rubble

…I’m just like my mama…so please, don’t be like me….

 

© All rights reserved 2016

5 thoughts on “Mama…..

Leave a Reply

